The government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Thus it’s the governments’ responsibility to ban alcohol and tobacco as they are addictive substances and harmful. How do you feel about this approach?

The government has the duty to assure the people of its country with the best security measures. It should take strict actions against things that can have a detrimental effect on its public. This essay agrees with the statement that, the government should ban addictives like alcohol and tobacco. This opinion is asserted using two supportive statements first, the dreadful impact on youngsters, and second, the health issues of the public. Firstly, nowadays there are numerous adolescents who find themselves addicted to alcohol and tobacco substances. For example, let us take the case of Andrew Symonds, a famous cricketer who had this urge to consume alcohol at the start of his career. This not only affected his on-field performances but also caused problems in his personal life. This has become a common issue among a lot of children. It is their age that makes them compulsive to these harmful materials. If the government introduces rules as schools should teach about the negative effects of these substances it can be handled right at the root level. Secondly, this compulsiveness towards liquor and smoking is growing along with the population. For instance, excessive consumption of liquor and smoking leads to many liver problems and cancer too. Despite this, few people still consume them. The government should create awareness about the negative outcomes of these materials, and establish some rehabilitation centres to cure this addiction problem. To summarize, harmful substances such as liquor and smoking do have detrimental effects on youngsters, and also on the welfare of the public. These are the reasons why the government should ban the usage of these materials. Upon detailed,study it can be said that by creating awareness among children and establishing rehabilitation centres the negative effect can be reduced, but should be banned eventually for the welfare of the public.