Weddings are more expensive in many countries comparison present and past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is a fact that nowadays people spend hefty amounts of money on marriage ceremonies compared to the past. The reason for this is primarily related to economic freedom and it is mostly a negative development. The prime reason behind this transformation is the improved financial status of individuals in comparison to the past. To be clearer, most global economies have prospered in recent decades. As a result, people have become more economically sound and this strengthened their spending power. For example, more number of modern citizens can now afford a standard life simultaneously along with a decent saving. Therefore, they have become eligible enough to spend extravagantly on auspicious occasions like marriages and birthday parties. Turning to the overall outcome of this spending habit, most people criticize it is as negative because they perceive it as a wastage of invaluable resources which could have been diverted to more crucial necessities. To explain it further, instead of meeting the primary objective of these special occasions, an exorbitant sum of money is been spent on frivolous products and activities. For example, there are marriages in which many of the attendees hardly spend even a minute with the bride and groom. Instead of wasting valuable financial resources in this manner, spending it on meeting the needs of the deprived is seen as more socially acceptable. To recapitulate, it is clear that the primary reason for spending extravagantly on marriages is because of the financial independence the modern man enjoys, and the trend is generally criticized in most societies.