Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, Internet access is available to all the age groups across the world, it has played an important role in connecting crowd across the globe. But illegal internet downloads have a negative impact on the music industry according to some public, while others say they have a negligible impact on artists. In my opinion, illegal downloading of content has a severe impact on music fraternity. To start with, illegally downloading music has created a tremendous impact on the revenues of the music industry. For example, music of several films has been released on the internet causing a huge loss to the well-known company TCS, who used to purchase the music rights by paying an enormous amount of money. In addition, as the songs have been released well in advance their profit margins have shrunk. As a result aforementioned points, it is been observed that the music industry is impacted due to illegal downloads. On the other hand, artists are rather benefitted as the songs are unethically downloaded by the vast majority of people. For example, it is witnessed that good music has always bought people to movie theatres. As a result, of good,songs people are more excited to watch movies and also try to read about the artist on the internet. This has eventually lead to a rise in the people watching movies and profit margins have significantly improved. In conclusion, Although downloading data from internet is unethical, it has given an upper edge to the artist and not impacted them. In my opinion, something which is illegal should be banned completely so that the hard work of the artist and the music industry helps them gain monies they deserve. In future maybe the music industry should figure out a way to stop this negative act of downloading music from the internet.