In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that the ageing population have been increased for the last ten years. Although there are many negative consequences caused by this trend, government can take steps to mitigate this problem. One of the prominent problems of having higher levels of life expectency is that there will be enormous tax burden on working, young adults. This is because the increased numbers of older citizens would propel public authorties to allocate more funds for pensions by rising the taxes on young adults. In other words, there are small proportion of young citizens who pay taxes but it is not adequate to cover the pension of senior people, which consitute the majority of the nation. A simple solution to this issue would be to increase the retirement age, perhapes between 60 and 75. This category have a good physical health, which helps them working for several years, and therefore it will help governement to lower the taxes. Another significant issue caused by this trend is that it will create a financial pressure on young people by taking care of their elderly relatives. High health bills comes along with taking care of this category, and the fact young adults have other financial abligations, such as renting a house and paying their children's school fees. The ultimate solution for the government would be spending more money from the national budget on providing free health services, accomadations and transportations for older people. There are many issues come with having large population of senior people such as increasing the tax and financial burden on younger citizens. However, these two problems can be tackled by rising the limit of the retirement and allocating more funds to provide free services to this category.