Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problems?

The management of criminals and the control of their activities and behaviour affect the society as a whole. Nevertheless, in our modern society, it is common to see criminals commiting more crimes after serving in prison. This essay will discuss why this phenomena happen and what measures should be taken to reduce its incidence. To start with, the importance of understanding human behavior arouses in order to concatenate the possible reasons to explain the increasing levels of crimes commited after prison. Psychologists have developed a theory that defends that human behavior is resultant from its surroundings. Therefore, if a person lives with people who tend to not pay respect for the the law, they will, probably, be stimulated to repeat this same behavior. A study published in England showed that sixty per cent of people who go to jail had been living in a criminal environment previously in life. Furthermore, usually, people who commit crimes are still being seen as criminals after serving in prison; consequently, they might have problems to be accepted in the society or hired in some job position. It is also important to point out that developing a policy to help people who commit crimes to improve their behaviour is an incredible difficult task. Nonetheless, partnerships between the government and private corporations could increase the number of opportunities for those prisoners who want to work with dignity and start a new life. Denmark, for insance, have been doing that for the past ten years and the results are outstanding. Offering job positions for former prisoners has helped to reduce the number of those who tend to go back to criminal activities due to lack of opportunities. Another possible solution should be encouraging people while in prison to attend classes and study programs to aprimorate their abilities and increase the chances of being accepted again in the future. To conclude, although this subject needs a more profound observance, I believe that the this phenomenon happens not only because people are influenced by their peers but also because former prisoners have problems being accepted in the society. Developing a partnership between the government and private sector to create job opportunities for former prisoners and encouraging people who live in prison to study or develop some ability might mitigate this problem.