Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed ?

In today's world, more and more people are choosing to work as a freelancer rather than in an organisation. Firstly, this essay will discuss why might this be a case and, secondly, it will analyse a possible drawback of this tendency. To begin with, on the one hand, the major reasons for this development are likely to be the freedom of choice and the ability not to share your earnings with the organisation. This is because of the fact that not only do self-employed workers can make any decisions that they consider right but, furthermore, they receive full payment for their job since any company does not take its interest. Therefore, due to such an approach humans have an opportunity to become more independent and even improve their real income. For example, recent research has shown that about 30% of the population of Ukraine are self-employed. However, on the other hand, this trend has its demerits like the lack of finance and the difficulty to find clients and loyal customers. This is due to the fact that not only will not bank be interested in a freelancer's application for an additional money but, moreover, it might be extremely complicated for an independent worker to form a strong customer base. As a result, if there is a lack of finance and no potential customers, profits will be low and a person is likely to start borrowing money. For instance, one study has illustrated that about 20% of those who have chosen to be freelancers have returned to a work in a company. Eventually, to conclude, the larger reason why self-employment has become so popular is that it gives a worker freedom in decision-making and he does not need to give a part of his income to the company. Despite this fact, there could be disadvantages such as difficulty in finding clients and a source of finance.