Fast food is becoming one part of life everywhere; this has bad effects on our lifestyles and diet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the culture of fast food has spread all over the world bringing many drawbacks for individuals lifestyles and nutrition. I totally agree with these people because due to the consumption of fast food, people do not spend much time with their families anymore and are becoming increasingly unhealthy. The main reason why junk food is harmful to people ’s lifestyle is that it is distancing family members. Although some argue that fast food is great since people do not have to spend hours cooking, I believe that the experience of cooking together is a great opportunity for family bonding. Nowadays individuals work longer hours than ever and not even during their meals they stop to have quality time with their relatives since it is easier to just grab something from the nearest drive-thru and eat it in the car. To illustrate, it is known that in Brazil due to the fast pace of modern life, most families do not have any meals together during weekdays leading to weaker relationships between parents and their children. Another reason why junk food is damaging is that it can cause many health problems. Although I concede that junk food can be extremely tasty, the risks involved in regular consumption are too great. This kind of food is always rich in fat and most of the ingredients do not have great nutritional factors, so if some individual’s diet is based on this food they can become obese and have heart diseases very quickly. For instance, there is a documentary where a man only eats at Mc Donald’s for one year and he goes from a healthy athletic individual to someone with health issues he has to deal for the rest of his life. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that fast food is extremely damaging to people ’s lifestyle and diest since it helps to increase the distance between family members and can bring severe health problems for the individual.