Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, ever more often television programmes give the chance to people to show their talents. Some argue that is a good way to give relevance to who, otherwise, won't have other chance to show themselves, while others think that are just shown to entertain. In this essay, I will discuss why I think talent shows are not just amusing programs but, also, real chances for talented people to show their skills. A first aspect, that tv shows give to talented people, is visibility. Having visibility and thus a public at whom showing your proficiency or talents is the main positive aspect of talent shows. Most of the time, people having great voices or are excellent dancer have not other ways to demonstrate their abilities. At best, they can perform in concerts or in theatres where the stalls are much less than the audience watching tv. The well-known singer Adele is one of the many talented singers who got famous thanks to talent shows; demonstrating her abilities in singing. A second aspect, which sometimes is not considered, is the fact that these artists pass through a selection process that chooses who is better based on their competence. Entertainment is a part of the show, however most of the participants have real abilities that have to be judged by experts. The tv program known as "The Voice" is an example of how singers are judged not on their appearance, but truly on their skills. In conclusion, I think that tv programs where talented people have the chance to show themselves, are not just entertainment but real opportunities to have some space to show what skills a person really has, aspiring to become recognised for his or her talents.