Many people are doing their shopping in the internet nowadays. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online?

With the increasing accessibility of the internet, it has been observed that more and more people are purchasing products through online portals. This essay shall look into the pros and cons of online shopping. To begin with, this development has a number of benefits for the customers. First and foremost, purchasing goods through the internet is more economical. The primary reason behind this is that the sellers do not have to bear the overhead of renting store at an expensive place. Owing to this, they can provide a margin of profit to the buyer as well. In addition, buying items online is very convenient as one can purchase while sitting at his home. Since every business house is focussing on shifting to e-commerce, it has become easier for the buyer to check their websites and purchase at the tap of a button. For example, an exponential surge of traffic on online stores such as Flipkart and Amazon is primarily due to the ease of buying through a variety of options in every product. On the contrary, this trend has some demerits as well which cannot be ignored. The prominent one is that customers cannot but the product instantaneously. In fact, the customer has to wait patiently for some days for its arrival once the order is placed online. Furthermore, the probability of the genuineness of the products purchased online is less. Since the items cannot be verified through tangible experience, It is more likely that the quality can be compromised by the seller. To illustrate, it is often seen that defective products are easy to sell through the virtual store as it is difficult to find the defect through this mode of shopping. To conclude, e-commerce has given the option to the people of affordable shopping experience with little efforts. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to this trend in terms of more delivery time as well as poor quality of products.