As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

Developing nations are seeing a reduction in the sizes of families. There seem to be some causes of this trend, and a number of effects have been identified, these will be discussed in the ensuing essay. Possible the main cause of this is an increase in the use of contraceptives amongst couples. Since the country is getting better developed, there is a resultant bridge of knowledge gap among the citizens. This eventually results in better decision-making as regards family size in relation to the family income. For instance, an educated family in the low socio-economic class will employ birth control option to manage the resource available to them, compared to poor ignorant couples. A further well- known cause is the increase in women empowerment in nations. Due to this, women are better informed of their rights as individuals and the ability to be career-oriented. Their awareness and busy work life will consequently delay childbirth, and they will have fewer children in the long run. There are a number of effects of this situation in society. Firstly, there is a reduction in the population size therefore, there is less competition as to the limited resource available to them and less occurrence of poverty. Also, families can provide quality education for the few children they produce. In conclusion, there is a fall in family size due to the use of contraception, women empowerment and this can greatly impact the family and the society as a whole.