Many people say that companies, factory owners and private tour operators should pay the bills for cleaning up pollution, instead of the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree with that?

For decades the world has been facing various environment problems, some may due to natural catastrophe while most of them are caused by human activities. While some people believe enterprises should bear the onus of clearing the existing pollution, I think governments should shoulder their responsibility as well. People who argue private sectors should be accountable for their environmental pollution believe that they have a moral obligation to clear up the rubbish and other pollutants in its surroundings. Since the corporates draw resources from their neighborhood, they cannot be nonchalant about the existing pollution and should be responsible towards society by ensuring cleanliness. Meanwhile, private companies often use government funded amenities such as roads, water, electricity at nominal costs, hence they must contribute to the nation in return by paying all the cost of recovering the environment. Nevertheless, if a polluter found not to be liable, then the costs should be covered by the governments. When the incident is unforeseen or the damage caused by it is so sever that the companies could go bankrupt after paying all the cost of recovery, governments should be a strong backup to help recover the environment and assist companies to overcome difficult times. On the other hand, in terms of legislation as well as improving the whole society’s sense of environment protecting, governments should always be prepared to respond when any kind of pollution events happen: training professional staff, developing tools and best practices for emergency response, and assessment of impacts to natural resources. Therefore, I believe the cost of cleaning up should not be paid by private companies alone, though they should be fully held accountable for pollutants they intentionally release. Governments, which serve the country as a whole, should also exert their influence on helping individuals and corporations recover, environmentally and economically, from these unfortunate events.