Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Stopping crime has become a global challenge. Therefore a cross-section of individuals believes that the onus of preventing crime in our society should be on the government, while others are of the opinion that individuals should defend themselves against criminal elements. This essay will discuss the importance of both views with relevant examples. Preventing lawlessness in any society is extremely expensive, as such the government plays a huge part in safeguarding the lives and properties of its citizens. crime detective agencies like the police, navy and air force should be adequately equipped and motivated to carry out their duties in maintaining law and order. Also, society should assist the police with critical information which will lead to the arrest of thieves in our society. For example, the arrest of a popular thief in Nigeria called Anini who was terrorising the whole country in 2015 was made possible by his girlfriend's information given to the police. Individuals protecting themselves will give opportunistic people powers of putting laws into their hands. violent will be the other of the day, it is a popular belief when you empower people wrongly they misuse it. For instance, if there is a law for people to arm themselves at every slightest provocation they will shoot. A recent survey in the united states of America says that the crime rate in Arizona is on the rise because of the number of gun owners. For example, in March 2019, a gun runner went on a shooting spree in Arizona killing a hundred and ten people a situation that would have been avoided if there was no law for people to carry guns. In conclusion, I believe the government should protect its citizens at the same time individuals should be security conscious and report any suspicious case of crime to the police who are more equipped to deal with any security challenge.