Do you think more and more people choose to stay single is a positive trend?

Nobody would dispute the fact that a significant number of people are choosing to be single nowadays. While some people would argue that being single is a good trend, I hold the view that it should not be vastly encouraged. In this essay, I will give reasons for my opinion. The reasons why being single has a negative impact are manifold. Firstly, it is obvious that everyone can get lonely and bored sometimes, hence a partner will be beneficial for maintaining good mental health. For example, when people get sick, they are more likely to need a partner to take care of them, and their partners can take them to the hospital if needed. People probably will experience a tremendously tough time if they do not have any help. Further, couples share knowledge with each other, and they can do activities together such as playing sports or reading together. Another point to consider is that adults should consider future generations. For instance, few would contest that children are vital to society, therefore married couples should be given more importance to, and they should have more benefits such as money support. If more and more young adults choose to stay single, worrisome situations such as ageing society and low fertility rates will need to be considered. Although young adults should consider for their future such as having children, they should also be given the right to stay single, and they can not be forced into marriage. In conclusion, while some people would argue that not having a partner in life is a good trend, I firmly believe that it should not be encouraged because people need companionship, they need to be taken care of, and they should consider future generations.