There are many inventions in human history, but some people think that the most important invention is the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are inventing many things to change our lives. Some people claim that the greatest invention is the Internet. In order to shed more light on this issue, it is necessary to explore the positive effects of the Internet on individuals and society. In terms of individuals, the Internet has changed personal behaviours. To begin with, people can keep in touch with their family, friends, and colleagues through the Internet. For example, if people leave their hometown, they still make contact with their friends or family by emails or online messages immediately. What is more, it is an important source of information. This means people can seek information or data that are uploaded on websites. In addition, the internet can improve efficiency in the study. Specifically, it took much time when students used to look for answers or solutions from encyclopedias. Compared to the past, students are able to use search engines to explore answers that they want to know for a couple of minutes. The invention of the internet has affected contemporary society as well. Firstly, it has revolutionised the method people consume. This is because online shops are more convenient and efficient than the bricks-and-mortar shops for the public to purchase items. Furthermore, there is an increase in opportunities for employment. As an illusion, online tutors have emerged since the internet was invented. Finally, monitor systems could be reinforced. Not only do the internet monitor road conditions but also the internet track criminals. There is the largest database access to the internet. As has been shown, there is no denying that the internet is the greatest invention for humans. In conclusion, although scientists have invented many things which can change our lives, the internet has brought about profound changes in society and individuals. In my opinion, the invention of the internet outweighs others.