In many countries it is becoming increasingly popular to learn about one's family history. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people are becoming increasingly captivated in learning the history of the origins of their own family, searching for their place in today’s highly globalized society. There can be many reasons behind learning about their genealogy, including a desire to boost resilience to find a sense of belonging to others. In today’s increasingly disconnected world, knowing one’s roots gives a sense of identity and, consequently, security. This is because, with the increased development of mobility, high technology, and the rapid pace of globalization, it is becoming increasingly challenging to feel a sense of belonging to a small close-knit community like one’s family which is considered to be essential to realize a sense of self-worth. As a result, modern people often tend to feel loneness, having no roots or connections with ancestors' history, which may cause stresses and, even, psychological problems, such as unwillingness or inability to face difficulties and life challenges. In my opinion, it is a positive approach, whereby investing time and effort in exploring one’s family tree and heritage provide many benefits because it makes the explorer more resilient through knowing the former experience of ancestors in different life challenges. This is because the exploration of how one’s family members probably faced some tragedies and heartache in the past and how they were able to overcome them can give the courage to keep going in the present when an individual is facing troubles. As a result, it is considered to be good enough help in solving current difficulties while maintaining psychological stability and resilience. For example, knowing that humanity has already faced a plague and other pandemics and has survived can empower and encourage people o fight the current situation. In conclusion, people are interested in discovering their family genealogy tree in an attempt to understand how they relate to society, thus establishing not only meaningful connections but also getting a sense of resilience.