Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Many people believe that mental prowess is the most necessary element to be successful in sports. On the other hand, some others think that physical strength is the key to gain success in sports. In my opinion, both of them are equally important and have their own benefits in notching up victories. Regarding mental toughness, having mental toughness will help athletes stay calm and concentrate in decisive moments. In the final round of a match, there are only two best players left, which prove that they have the most excellent physical conditions among other competitors. Therefore, only the strong willed player can appeal for inner calm and maintain confidence to totally focus on the target and score the triumph. For example, in the final archery match in Sea Game, if one athlete does not overcome nervousness and devote all attention to the target, that person will miss the goal and lose. This emphasizes that mental strength is the game changing factor in decisive moments to determine the outcome of many contests. Nonetheless, there are numerous people cling to the belief that physical fitness still play the most essential role in reducing the possibility of injuries. This means that people who have stamina, agility, muscular endurance and cardiorespiratory endurance are likely to lower their levels of injuries. Many military studies of America have proven that people who are fit can perform at a lower percentage of their maximal capability, so that they can perform the task for a long period of time and fatigue less rapidly. The less fatigue movements they produce, the less stress are put in unaccustomed body parts, so it possibly decreases the likelihood of injuries. Hence, physical toughness can lessen the risk of injuries in playing sports. In conclusion, to be successful in sports, athletes need not only mental prowess but also physical toughness. From my perspective, to snatch victories in sports, we should pay more attention in mental strength than physical fitness, especially in important match, which requires concentration and calm.