Teenagers should never be put in prison with adults no matter how serious their crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Part of the population believes that children who commit serious crimes should be punished severely and, in some cases, should even share jail with adult prisoners, while others defend that, independently of how serious the crime was, children should never be put in prison with adults. This essay will discuss both perspectives and express an opinion in the last paragraph. On the one hand, adult's prisons are considered extremely rigorous and part of the teenagers who are engaged in criminal activities are afraid of being put in adult's prisonal system. Therefore, people who support the idea of not separating young people from adults claim that this measure can be used as an efficient message to prevent youngsters from taking their chances accepting and participating in criminal activities. For instance, a study published last year, in Denmark, showed that countries who do not separate youngs from adults in their prisonal prison systems tend to have less percentage of teens committing crimes in comparison to countries where teenagers had their own prisonal prison system. Nevertheless, it is important to comment that studies in psychology has already proven that someone can be permanently influenced by their peers, therefore, putting youngsters in adult's prisons, sharing the same routine and activities can affect their chances to start a regular life far from the criminality afterwards. To illustrate that situation, in India, where teenagers share prison with adults, sixty-three per cent of former youngsters prisoners are recruited in some criminal organization. This phenomenon can be explained because teens are persuaded and taught to maitain their lives not respecting the rules and the law. To conclude, althought deciding what to do with youngsters regarding penalties and punishments is a delicate matter, I tend to believe that the benefits of letting teenagers share a prison with adults pale in comparison to the drawbacks because it might prevent them to improve their behaviour and start a new life after the jail period.