Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Food production has drastically changed over the years and there is now incorporation of artificial flavours and chemicals to improve the quality of food products. However, these processes have deleterious effects. I strongly opine that the potential harms are greater than the benefits they may offer. There are several reasons why food additives can be disadvantageous. To begin, these chemicals can be unhealthy to man. The particular reason for this is because these can contain compounds and carcinogens that lead to the development of certain disease conditions. For example, in 2005, the United State Food and Drug Association, a well-renowned public health body reported that monosodium nitrite causes elevation of blood pressure. Furthermore, these food chemicals can be poisonous to certain lower animals and cause their death. This can eventually lower the population number of these animals. Admittedly, the addition of artificial additives can help improve the taste of food. The particular reason for this is that they contain sweeteners and flavours that can help the taste of food. For instance, food diary, a popular food blog told of the significance of the monosodium content of noodles adds to the delicious taste of this dish. Also, preservatives can sustain the quality of foods and help. Nevertheless, the dangers associated with practices should not be undermined. In conclusion, although the benefits of food preservation include improving the quality and taste of food, I believe there are demerits of this practice such as the dangers posed on health and greatly supersedes the merits.