In some parts of the world, it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Finding and understanding one’s ancestral history is becoming a trend in many places across the globe. People may be indulging more in this activity as they find it as a means of connecting with their roots. I believe this is a positive development. To know one’s own roots can be a deeply satisfying experience. That is to say, knowing the ancestral history can strengthen a person’s self-awareness. For example, people may find a sense of connection with their great grandfathers because they were successful in life. As a result, they may also want to look up to them. Furthermore, it also gives them the confidence to see that someone from their family has done something extraordinary. Some people may also show interest in going through their family’s past because they associate their identity with it. In other words, it gives them a purpose and they may want to take the same path in life as their ancestors did. To illustrate, a person may want to become a doctor by seeing that his forefathers and grandfathers also practised medicine in their time. I think it is great for someone to be willing to put any effort into knowing their family history. It may result in an overall improvement in their whole being. Put differently, this may turn out to be a spiritual experience for the individual. For example, people finding themselves in a difficult situation may get excited to know that their forefathers also faced a similar situation which encourages them to find a solution to their own problem. In conclusion, the idea of knowing the journey of one’s own family can have a positive outcome for the individual by fortifying his self-awareness.