At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

People's lives are being seriously affected by the media. It has a negative impact on our society because people who watch tv more are more depressed as compared to those who sit before tv for a limited period of time. Most of the programs that are being run on tv are based on any negative event. This is to say that the channel that runs most negative news get the highest rating. Therefore, most of the tv channels try to make programs that are mostly in any negative event. For example, a recent article of the Jang newspapers revealed that in Pakistan on average 73 per cent of programs that run on the media in a day are based on any bad situation and the channel that displays more disastrous news gets more rating. The whole society is being affected by this situation and people are now more afraid than their parents and grandparents. People who watched more tv during Covid-19 has reported more anxiety issues than people who were doing any productive work during their stay at home. For instance, a government survey in India found that people who were sitting in front of the screen in Covid times felt more and became depressed and eventually many had to go to the psychiatrist to get a prescription to solve their problem. In conclusion, the effect of media on people's mind is huge nowadays and it certainly has a detrimental impact on society because people get depressed by watching negative news and feel more anxiety.