Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In most parts of the world, cell phones are parts of our everyday lives. Despite their supposed usefulness, some academic institutions have placed a ban on their usage. This is a positive development that I will support with points as I go on. Restricting phone use in the classroom can improve learning. This helps to boost the overall concentration of students during studies in the classroom. For example, students who are with their phones will constantly have the urge to check messages,social media constantly. This can lead to missing out on vital lessons taught by the teacher, thereby reducing their overall performance at the end of the school term, this may probably lead to them repeating the class for a fresh year. All this makes it important to restrict phone use so as to improve learning. Another reason that placing a ban on phones is a positive development is that it improves the social wellbeing of scholars. This is because it encourages them to socialize among their peers. For instance, during free periods, instead of students been on their phone steady as a means to pass time, they could play a favorite game or just sit and discuss with friends. While this is a very important factor, it will also increase bonding and improve social wellbeing. The restrictions on phones therefore improves the social health of students. In conclusion, mobile phones have been restricted by some learning institutions. This is a positive development because it increases classroom concentrations and improves socialization skills of the individual.