Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Despite the usefulness of cell phones, some academic institutions have placed a ban on their usage. I believe this is a positive development because it will not only improve learning but it will also improve the social wellbeing of students. Restricting phone use in the classroom can improve learning. This helps to boost the overall concentration of students during studies in the classroom. For example, undergraduates who are with their phones will constantly have the urge to check messages,social media constantly. This can lead to missing out on vital lessons taught by the teacher, thereby reducing their overall performance at the end of the school term, which may probably lead to them repeating the class for a fresh year. Therefore, it is important to restrict phone use so as to improve learning. Another reason that placing a ban on gadgets is a positive development is that it improves the social wellbeing of scholars. Moreover, it encourages them to socialize among their peers. For instance, during free periods, instead of undergraduate being on their appliances as a means to pass time, they could play a favourite game or just sit and discuss with friends. While this is a very important factor, it will also increase bonding and improve social wellbeing. The restrictions on phones improve the social health of students. In conclusion, mobile gadgets have been restricted by some learning institutions. This is a positive development because it increases classroom concentrations and improves the socialization skills of the individual in school.