Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

The leisure time of many individual's is spent watching television. The negative impact of this is that it prevents them from interacting with friends and family, as well as making them inactive and lethargic. I agree with this statement, because staring at a screen for a long period of time reduces an individuals ability to focus, and sitting down for many hours lowers a persons ability to move, by reducing energy levels and muscle strength. Firstly, staring at the television screen for a long period of time can reduce the cognitive ability of a person. This is because when a person watches tv they do not need to use a great deal of brain function, as they are mostly just receiving information that does not require action. For example, action films are filled with explosions and fighting scene, which are visually pleasing, but do not require much analysis or cognitive ability to understand. Therefore, over time brain function will decrease and basic abilities such as talking to someone become harder to do. Secondly, when watching tv for a long time your body will become less active. This is because sitting down for a long period of time prevents you from exercising, which is vital for health and wellbeing. For example, if you do not exercise regularly, then your muscle tone will reduce and your cardiovascular system will also become weaker. As a result, ones ability to move effectively will become harder and the person will become more lethargic. In conclusion, I agree that watching television for a long period of time will negatively impact a person's social life and their health and wellbeing, by making them lazy and unable to communicate effectively with those around them. Therefore, it would be better to avoid spending so much of your free time watching television.