In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such solution.

In recent years, there is no doubt that traffic and the resulting pollution has increased multifold. In order to tackle this, myriad of people suggest to tax private car buyers immensely and use the collected money to enhance community transportation. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks resulting from the aforementioned approach. To begin with the advantages, a significant advantage is that taxing may help reduce the emission of greenhouse gases resulting from the new vehicles. As more taxes come into effect, it would mean that now people will have to shed more cash in order to buy new four-wheelers for themselves and owning a private vehicle may become less affordable. This means that there might be less new cars on the road. As a result, we might witness a sharp decline in the overall pollution levels. Not only this, taxing heavily would encourage people at large to make use of public transportation which can result in the decongestion of roads. Nevertheless, taxing private car owners do present some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is the lack of growth opportunities. This is because newly levied taxes can shoot the car prices and it may become unaffordable to the majority of middle-class citizens resulting in reduced demand. Consequently, expansion options could be curtailed for numerous businessmen. Furthermore, heavy taxes have the potential to surge the unemployment. As a number of medium and small scale factories are often dependent on the prevailing demand of the market, they would be at greater risk of losing the job in case of curtailed business activities. In conclusion, despite the benefits of reduced harmful gases and heightened frequency of public transportation, decreased demand and concomitant job count should also be taken into consideration.