Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is being said that one way to mitigate the urban traffic and pollution issues could be (be by) setting the gas commodities at a higher price. Although it has some quick benefits for the government and the oil industry, I thoroughly disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why along with some other suggestions to decelerate such problems. To begin with, soaring (jacking up) the gas prices would not totally discourage people from continuing to buy cars and consequently packing the cities' traffic. This is because it would affect their pockets but not their cultural behavior. For instance, although cars and oil in Brazil are extremely expensive, people still find a way to pursue them as it is more comfortable to commute. As a result, people spend huge amounts of money financing vehicles, even though this might mean they will have no extra money left for leisure time at the end of the month. To tackle this, the government could invest in the development of urban infrastructures, as seen in some countries around Europe, where people use more the public means of transports rather than owning a Car (automobile). Meanwhile, raising the gas' price would not make the statement that needs to be done to save the planet. People need to reflect and start making their own decisions about how they affect the ecosystem. This is important because no matter how high the industry set the prices, in every corner we would still see someone polluting the atmosphere by using cars. To solve this lack of knowledge, well-known brands should start to raise awareness with campaigns spreading more information about climate changes and how stopping to consume oil could save our planet before it is too late. To conclude, although the oil industry was important to grow many countries' economies, I believe that it has passed the time for people to realise (realize) that we need to stop damaging the Earth. This being said, one solution could be huge (massive) investments in public transportations, and another would be to raise awareness about how the climate is changing for the worse because of fuel usage