In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

As the world connects over the Internet and digital contents, the entertainment industry expands and releases its productions in quantity. One of the most profitable offerings is crime novels and dramas, which finds a growing audience through cinema, streaming services and TV shows, and there are a number of reasons for this reception. Firstly, these programs often exploit violence and this is not new to humankind. Although most people do not desire to be associate with wicked feelings, anger, aggressivity and vulnerability are part of human nature and they might turn an emotional response into an attraction reaction. For instance, during the Roman Empire, the Coliseo fightings were offered to the community as entertainment, despite their outstanding developments in Philosophy and individual rights. Secondly, crime stories usually are presented in a storytelling format. People find great gratification in storytelling because it is how they are educated to understand the world and organize comprehension. Therefore, a tale with characters, their personal history and motivations create empathy in the spectators, that will follow the thread into disclosure. An example of that is the Making a Murder TV series, where the main crime suspect's point of view is exposed towards his proof of innocence and the audience started to protest and claim his freedom publicly. In my opinion, all sorts of novels manipulate our emotions and reactions and it has always been how different cultures find leisure and pleasure. Those dedicated to exploring violence should hold responsibility for the public involved and the risk of inspiring individuals to practising these acts. Nevertheless, it can serve to educate, especially when the motivations address the society's lack of care and promote changes, or it can be limited to graphic degradation of victims. To sum up, the popularity of these shows is not unexpected, as humans always dealt with violence in History. However, as they evolve in complexity and quality, they also should be held accountable for the consequences of overwhelming aggression through media.