With the advent of social media, more people are getting their news online instead of from print media. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who read news online.

It is well-established fact that with the invention of technology, now most of the world acquires online news rather than the newspaper. Having online media would certainly an effective method and overcome many global issues, however, there will be some disadvantages. There are several obvious benefits of using the virtual broadcast. Firstly, the biggest advantage of e-papers is that it is a faster medium for acquiring latest news than regular newspapers. If any activity reported around the world that promptly updated on the online media in a short span of time. Secondly, Online media are immediately accessible and convenient. Individuals can read the news at any place and even several times. For example, the online newspaper can be read, while travelling from the metro, sitting in offices. Although, one can view a week or month-old news and also can download the archives of the important news on their mobile phones, laptops and desktops. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to online media. Older generation people are not comfortable in reading e-papers, as compared to print media. In other words, as elderly people have plenty of free time, so they read all the news very carefully. Whereas, e-papers provides the highlight of current news happening around the world rather than smaller and more local news articles, which print media usually cover. Furthermore, to access online media it is a must to have an internet connection because without internet people have to rely on normal newspapers. For example, in smaller cities, people still do not have an internet connection because of high charges, so people have to depend on print media. In conclusion, while there are several positive aspects of having an online media such as easy accessibility, convenient. However, it is not easily accessible to all age groups as well as it requires a large expense of installing the internet and device.