Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate, and give your personal view. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience..

It is argued by some individuals that putting animals in cages is morally incorrect while others contend that it is gainful for both humans and animals. This essay agrees that it is not right to keep animals in captivity since their abandonment leads to problems and they require freedom in order to maintain a satisfying life. Some people claim that keeping animals in cages keeps them safe from the harsh realities of life. While encaged, animals will not get hunted by predators and will be shielded from extreme changes in climate. Unfortunately, zoos often kill or abandon animals which are surplus to their requirements. As such, it is not certain that they will be safer in cages. For example, letting go of an animal who is raised in a zoo would lead to it not being able to adapt to the natural environment quick enough to survive. Science shows us that animals have emotions. It is wrong to keep them in cages since they lose their ability to roam around as well as engage in recreational activity with each other. Therefore, they feel a loss of control and become anxious which can lead to them attacking humans. In addition, this has a worsening affect on their physical health. For instance, in a recent survey in South Africa it was shown that 80% of lions in captivity shows symptoms of agitation or obesity. To conclude, keeping animals in cages leads to emotional and physical problems for them as well as a possibility of them attacking humans. Hence, they should be left free to wander in their natural habitat.