Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some individuals that our past has nothing to teach us for our life in the present moment, while others contend that the days gone by are crucial to educate ourselves about our current life. This essay suggests that studying our history is an essential tool to know our present because humans tend to make similar mistakes repeatedly. Some people claim that studying the days gone by has no benefit for us now because we have radically different circumstances today. For example, the end of the 20th century led to tremendous advancements in the field of technology, specially the rise of computers and the Internet. However, while specific situations change with time, the core problems of human behaviour remain the same. The issue of resource allocation was relevant during the times of the French Revolution and it remains important today in the age of the Internet. History is a vast means of information and it would be a waste not to use it to analyze the current scenario. The mistakes we make now are not much different from the ones we made years ago. Hence, it makes sense to learn from them. For instance, the world wars led to catastrophic destruction of human life and property. Various nations learned from this due to which there was much less conflict afterwards despite the intense rivalry between the US and the USSR. To conclude, while it may seem that situations change with time, the basic issues of humans remain the same. As such, it makes sense to look at the past as a vital tool to understand the present.