Some people think that people moving to a new country should accept new culture in the foreign country. Others think that they should live as a separate minority group with different lifestyles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, with the passage of time every country is on the path of development and with this development there is a growing trend of visiting different places in different countries. There is a heated debate about whether immigrants should do and behave as the people of the host nation or they should keep their traditional lifestyle and live as a separate minority. In this essay, I will discuss the viewpoints of both supporters and opponents, as well as give my own opinion. On the one hand, a few people claim that there are many benefits of adopting the host countries’ customs. First of all, it decreases the chances of misunderstanding and embarrassment for newcomers. For example, in Japan, it is offensive to sing or talk aloud in the evening, whereas it is common in Vietnam. Secondly, visitors establish a good relationship with local people because people can feel respected when their customs are understood and imitated. They become a member of the host country and so they do not suffer from any culture shock. On the other hand, there are many advantages to make a minority group. If a person is from a country with strong and old traditions, it will be difficult for him to adopt new customs. He cannot break old customs such as food habits or wearing certain types of clothes. In such cases, if he retains his old traditions and lives with his community as a separate minority, he won not suffer from homesickness. All in all, I think that a mutual understanding between both the visitors and the host countries is necessary to maintain harmony. In modern society in which everyone is tolerant of each other’s customs and traditions are the need of the day.