In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Throughout the world, youngsters are stimulated to spend a year travelling or working before enrolling the university. This essay will discuss some of the disadvantages and the advantages of taking a year out and will explain why its benefits overcome the drawbacks. To begin with, people who are against spending a year out of studies claim that due to our competitive world the cost of losing one entire year of study is extremely high. The number of companies which are requiring younger and more specialized people is increasing; hence, interrupting the course of your student life might postpone your university conclusion and affect negatively the possibility of accessing best jobs opportunities available in the market. Although this policy is not explicited, the majority of developers who were hired for Google Company last year had just turned twenty-two and had finished their programming degrees. Nevertheless, the possible negative effects of losing competitivenes in the future labour market pale in comparison to the positive ones. People who take their time to travel and work, normally, live experiences that help them to become more mature and prepared to decide their future career. To illustrate this, not only youngsters change their profissional decision during their absent year but they also tend to be happier with their choices. It seems that taking more time to think about their future might help young people not to suffer peer pressure regarding their career decision, consequently, they are able to think more clearly about their preferences. To conclude, although some drawbacks can be related to be absent from studies before enrolling in the university, I believe that the negative effects pale in comparison to the positive ones. Teenagers who take their time to live other experiences tend to be more mature after this process and more likely to be happy with their professional career choices.