Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that young people have to do some volunteer work for their local communities whenever they have spare time because this can be beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because teenagers are not obliged to do unpaid jobs during their free time. The main reason that justifies the disagreement with this view is that young people have a burden of school works. Their teachers and parents expect them to do their homework, projects, and exam revisions on top of attending the lessons every day. If they are forced to volunteer in a charity event, such as raising funds for poor people, they would encounter enormous pressure to balance their studies and unpaid work responsibilities. Another paramount reason, it can diminish the importance of volunteer work in terms of its value and message. When students are forced to do something they do not have interest in it, they are more likely to grow a negative notion against it, and therefore they feel resentment and anger. As a consequence, This would significantly contribute to undermining the benefits of doing unpaid work for society because the essence of this work is mainly relied on showing a willingness to offer help so that they could effectively learn how to support their communities. To sum up, it is clear that young people may hate volunteering if they are forced to do it because they have school responsibilities. Moreover, it could probably distort the moral and ethical value of volunteering.