People rarely interact with their neighbors and this is a harmful effect for local communities. What are the possible cause and solutions?

In modern times, it has become increasingly common for individuals to hardly communicate with their neighbourhood as a consequence creates a negative impact on our society. There are several reasons for this issue and the role of overworking is one of the causes. However, there are some measures that can be implemented to tackle this issue. The main reason that people are not interacting with their neighbours is a busy life at work. People are spending more and more time at work than their own homes, and tend to become workaholics. In other words, people are surrendering their free leisure time to perform more tasks at work. Steve Jobs, for instance, used to spend extremely hours at his work and consequently he did not know any of his neighbours. Work -life impacts our social life and it can damage our society as we do not communicate with others. Clearly, long hours at the workplace can generate a lack of communication between neighbours. There is, however, an option to alleviate the problem caused by long hours at the workplace and it is a creation of community centres. Even though people are working until late at work, a community centre would assist to bring people together by organising events and raising local issues. For example, Sydney created many local communities centre to help local citizens to interact more with each other by face to face or email, and also they can raise local issues to the government for improvements. Such activity enables people to interact with each other and bring. Therefore, everyone can participate to improve their local area as they can collaborate in many ways of communication. In conclusion, although population are spending extreme hours at work, they can still participate in their local neighbourhood by messaging or participating in events. In my view, interaction with the local neighbourhood is important and individuals should be participating more.