Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this case? What can be done to attract local people?

Comparing to tourists native residents are less likely to visit local museums and historical sites. It seems they lack interests. I would like to explore why this case happens and how to attract more local people. In my opinion, there are three reasons for this case. The first reason is few advertising or introduction in local communities. in other words, local people do not know much about museums or historical sites, thus they do not pay attention to them. Secondly, unlike travellers, local people might not search for travel information about their town. Where are many events and articles about sites. Thirdly, these visiting sites may charge for tickets. Which can prevent some local people to come. Because people are more willing to spend money when they are on vacation other than in daily life. For these reasons, there are three suggestions to solve this problem. One is increasing promotion in the local community, such as open classes about these historical sites in schools. As people are interesting they may want to go.Another one is to give residents a lower price of tickets or free entrance when it is not tourism seasons. If the price is lower enough, visiting these sight would become the daily leisure for natives. The last is to encourage local people to be volunteers of events, let they participate in. In conclusion, to solve this problem, first we let local people know, then we should let them an interest in and the last lower the barrier to visiting. I hope more and more people visit their historical sites and know their culture better.