Families who do not send their children to public schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Part of the population believes that if a child do not attend a public school, his or her family should not be obligated to contribute paying taxes regarding public education system; while others defend that tax payment to support public schools should be mandatory for every citizen. This essay will discuss both perspectives and stand for those who defend the necessity of contributing to public education independently its usage. To begin with, it is important to say that people who think that contribution to the public education system should be restricted for those who actually use the system, claim that the amount of money charged in tax is already extremely heavy for the average citizen. Furthermore, it seems quite unfair to split public expenses equally among people who do not use this service. Some research conducted in Brazil showed that the average citizen have to work approximately four to five months of the year in order to pay its taxes. Nevertheless, the benefits of not charging equal tax among citizens pale in comparison to the benefits of having numerous people contributing together. The sum of tax received can be used to improve educational system as a whole and diminish the quality gap between private schools and public ones. Furthermore, with more money, the government would be able to increase the salary of teachers and professors, attracting better professionals to the public sector. To illustrate that situation, Canada has one of the most reliable educational systems in the world and the cost of its system is supported by considerable tax splitted among citizens independently its usage. To summarize, although on the one hand it seems quite unfair charging people equally regarding supporting public schools, the benefits overcome the drawbacks. With more citizens contributing, the government can invest more money in educational services and increase the quality for those who cannot afford a private school.