More and more parents begin to allow their children to play on computers and tablets as they think children should learn technology skills. Do advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages or not?

It is true that a growing number of parents start permitting their offspring to play on digital products in order to help them acquire technology skills. Although this scenario carries a few advantages, disadvantages outweigh its benefits for the reasons listed below. It is a good thing for children to entertain with computers and tablets at an early age for several factors. To begin, once they get familiar with these gadgets, they may develop an interest in finding out how these work and get into the field of programming. It is a job area demanding much working labor. Besides, computers and tablets are so efficient in improving our working productivity that they are common in every office. People are supposed to get the hang of technology skills of utilizing these tools, which are also beneficial to organize their studying. However, drawbacks deriving from using computers and tablets in childhood are more noteworthy than advantages. Firstly, children might spend too much time sitting in front of screens which is terrible for their eyesight and overall health. Secondly, if children get addicted to these machines, they will not have time to finish their school work, lose interest in studying and finally drop out of school. What is more, children tend to play with these gadgets alone and might not socialize with classmates and friends, which is harmful to their social relationships. For example, Jobs Steve, the creator of a leading technological company, forbid his children from playing Ipads because he was afraid that technology would take up too much time. In conclusion, individuals might learn some technology skills by playing on computers and tablets when they are young, but potential disadvantages outweigh those advantages unless they use these gadgets reasonably.