Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Part of the population does not defend that sports should be related as a mandatory activity in schools, while others claim that having sports classes is considerably important for the correct development of a child. This essay will discuss both perspectives and will give an opinion accordingly to the arguments presented. To begin with, people who think that sports should not exist in schools claim that the high level of competitiveness that our modern society lives requires that students focus their energy and time on learning technical skills. Therefore, schools will only be properly preparing youngsters to succeed in the future if excluding sports activities in students ’ routine. To illustrate that scenario, in Brazil, the competition among students to access health educational universities is so considerable that they spend up to six years until succeeding in the acceptance exam. Nevertheless, students who have the opportunity to practice sports in school might develop more interest in maintaining a healthy routine which might affect their self-esteem and their mental health in the future. Furthermore, sports class is also an opportunity for students to socialize and alleviate the pressure of others massive activities that they are submitted during their schooling routine. Therefore, all the aspects considered; I believe that the benefits of increasing student’s time to prepare themselves to technical subjects pale in comparison to the negative effects of having a sedentary life. Besides, students usually use sports time to relieve stress regarding high mental demanding activities, which might affect positively their results in others important subjects. To summarize, despite some benefits could be related to stimulate students to focus on technical subjects, I believe that they might be more benefited if sports activities are granted in their schooling schedule.