Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, there is a heated debate about whether governments should subsidize artistic and cultural activities. While the notion of public funding for the arts and culture is opposed by a few, I am firmly convinced that government expenditure should be spent on these sectors for some reasons. On the one hand, admittedly, those opposing financially supporting arts and culture could provide certain justifications. To begin with, critical issues such as poverty, social unrest or environmental problems remain major concern reducing the citizens quality of life in some countries, hence, priority should be identified properly. Besides, torn by such pressing issues, residents whose welfare is not fully guaranteed by the state would by no means show a keen interest in art and culture. Therefore, the allocation of resources to this sector has generally deemed a waste of public funding. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the role of developing art and culture activities is of greater significance for the community and should be publicly financed. Firstly, via artworks, unique cultural characteristics are preserved and bequeathed. For example, Dong Ho Painting Village, an aesthetic symbol in Vietnam culture, has succeeded in passing cultural traits and traditions from generations to generations by highlighting every aspect of daily rural life in their paintings. Secondly, performing arts companies can make a significant contribution to the local economy by generating more employment for artists and designers, and the state will thus benefit from a rise in tax revenue. All in all, although some people are opposed to the idea of providing financial assistance for art and culture, I believe that this practice proves to bring unquestionable benefits.