Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Fame can be considered as a synonym of public acclamation and it is pursued by so many people from a myriad of fields of expertise. Although getting this recognition may open doors and enlarge personal and/or professional opportunities, I believe it has more cons than pros. Diverse artists, athletes, TV show presenters, or top models, to name a few, have excelled themselves in their careers and became extremely notorious so that they are labelled celebrities or stars. They get invited to a plethora of social events, magazine covers, and cameos, and, in many cases, watch their net worth increase exponentially. Not rarely, this exposition comes with a legion of fans who idolize and take them as a whole life model. However, being in the spotlight may have its flip side. Those celebrities such as princess Daiana, who died in the 1990s because of a car crash in Paris after running away from a paparazzi, had her life scrutinized by the British tabloids after entering the royal family. The singer Britney Spears, who was meticulously followed by the lens of the paparazzi’s cameras since her adolescence, overreacted by hitting a car with her umbrella in a furious attack. The lack of privacy may affect all of them in such a harsh way that they literally lose their freedom and, sometimes, even the sanity. In summary, being a star and acclaimed may be pleasant and provide lots of benefits, but it comes at a price. If someone wishes fame, it is crucial to be aware of the eventual collateral effects and be certain if it worth it.