Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The huge development of urban areas attracts people. Therefore, the big cities are getting overpopulated causing inadequacy of shelter in urban cities. This can pose some serious social effects. It is of popular opinion that only the government can provide solutions to this issue and I completely agree with the statement. Some people may claim that the population can control the housing shortage. They may refer to these situations like that which will warrant individuals, to sought jobs with better-earning capacity. As a result, they can afford the high housing fees and they can live more comfortably, and they can avoid being victims of social circumstances. I believe this argument does not stand up to scrutiny, as it is only logical that only the government can create means to improve housing condition. To begin, the state can facilitate décongestion of the urban centres by prioritizing the rural area development. As a result, the rate at which people immigrate to the big cities will be slowed down, also there can be emigration from big cities to the small towns. For example, the Tribune Newsline, a well-known news website reported the population decline in Kumasi, a well-developed city in Ghana that occurred in the year 2010- 2015. As a result of industries and construction of better roads in smaller cities. Furthermore, the government can affect laws against real estate agencies from charging the inhabitants exorbitantly. In effect, it can limit some negative situations as sexual abuse, and increased crime rate in the society. In conclusion, I believe that although some others may disagree with the notion, I opine that only the state has the capacity to tackle the sheltering issue through the betterment of rural areas and put a stop to overpricing of houses by real-estate dealers. Hence, it can help avoid some negative social implications.