In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, taking a gap year has become very common among the youngsters, as many of them are still indecisive about their future. Many surveys have been conducted and have shown that a year off has a great impact on their social life. However, people have a contrasting view, whether it would be better to continue the studies or to gain experiences. This essay will discuss why both views have merits and why I believe the latter opinion is superior. In the past, many students decided to take a year off, mostly due to the uncertain decision about the continuation of their studies. However, this has changed and as the world has become more inclusive, and so are young people, who view it as an opportunity to extend their social cycle and gain independence, international linguistic skills, and working experiences. The most compelling evidence is Scandinavian countries, where people spend years abroad, working and then returning home. However, it is important to realize that spending time in a foreign country requires a lot of money, which may be not affordable to many young people. Therefore, we can conclude that a gap year is a valuable experience but only for those who can afford it. Even though international experience has many advantages, it is important to realize its disadvantages. Some students do not want to continue their education and the level of their formal education remains just with the high school diploma. Furthermore, it is important to realize that the labor market is interconnected with the higher formal education certificates. Overall, if in the past only wealthier people were able to afford such an experience. However today due to the specialized European programs that are offered across the universities, students can choose either student exchange programs or internships, so there is no need in taking a gap year. But, for people that cannot afford to study, taking a year off on its costs is the only way to gain international experiences.