In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is in your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Recently TV shows and books related to crime stories have been increasing in popularity in a myriad of countries. In this essay, I am going to explore this point of view and give my personal opinion on this subject. Some people may argue that the main reason for the tremendous success of that genre in a plethora of homes worldwide is related to its sense of realism, and, in some cases, a part of people’s personal experiences. Others also consider a certain human tendency to not attach to comedies or to happy-ending narratives. When it comes to the Brazilian reality and its social issues, we may comprehend why the “Elit Squad” movie series and the Netflix show “The Mechanism” had an enormous audience. The former is about the day-to-day officers’ lives fighting against the crime in slams in the city of Rio de Janeiro, while the latter biasedly tries to illustrate the corruption scandals that were revealed in the country, which led many politicians and ordinary people to jail in the 2010s. On the other flip side, although romantic dramas, cheesy movies, sitcoms or even action books and TV shows have their fans, it is hard not to notice the sharp difference between them and anything related to the crime genre in terms of popularity. I personally tend to agree with those crime-related fictions are not only more realistic, but also present in our daily routine. The suspense embedded in the narrative makes us willing to figure what comes next, and therefore, keeps us addicted to them. To conclude, I believe people are not only more interested in stories able to catch our attention, but also in those that somehow is a common topic in our society.