The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

The discussion regarding how to examine students is certainly a difficult one and has not yet been settled. A new format of evaluation has emerged and sparked the debate on whether the educational system should implement it or not. This essay will shed light on the negative aspects of the traditional exams, as well as portray why I believe that a continuous format is much more beneficial. To begin with, let us start with the disadvantages of the current method. Firstly, traditional exams have been the same for the past century. While everything else in society has been progressing and advancing, our school system seems to be stuck in time. This argument alone should suffice to support a change, however, consider also the stress the current format of evaluation places on students. To illustrate this, recent studies have shown that kids become overly stressed during exam week. By concentrating all of the tests in the same timeframe a huge burden is placed on the shoulders of our children, which could lead to psychological issues. To furthermore support this new trend, let us discuss its positive aspects. To start, a better quality of assessment is certainly guaranteed. By having this examination happen continuously, a much more accurate view is obtained when compared to the current way. For instance, most Brazilian schools have exams every three months, which is such a long timeframe that students may get lower grades due to having already forgotten part of what was learned at the beginning of the period. Moreover, the new way allows a quicker and more effective response of teachers and parents. To exemplify, with the traditional test methods tutors can only know that a child is having a poor performance after the exam, which could take 2-3 months. If the new format of testing was in place a much faster identification of bad performance would be possible, thus allowing teachers to help the kid in need. To conclude, this matter is certainly much more complex than it initially seems, but some strong arguments were presented in favour of the new educational assessment method. I believe that a change is already due, not only because the current way is very outdated, but also because it improves the quality of evaluation. Finally, governments should bring this topic into the discussion and consider changing it as soon as possible to benefit our students.