In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to epidemiologists and experts of the field, overpopulation seems inevitable issue in the future, which may have numerous implications on the society, including need for huge expenditure on healthcare. As a result, it is often believed that the public should be responsible for their healthcare costs. Personally, I agree with this view to some extent and think that some people should pay for their care while cost of some others should be covered by government. First of all, people who practice bad habits and follow unhealthy lifestyle should be obliged to fund their hospital and treatment costs. In other words, those who ignore scientifically proven facts and doctor’s recommendations need to pay for their actions, for instance living a sedentary lifestyle, eating diets that pose risk on health, or keeping bad habits like cigarette smoking, all which contribute to chronic illnesses are nonsense behaviors. To sum up, people who keep practicing same pattern of life despite knowing fate of their certain behaviors must pay out of their pockets when becoming ill. On the other hand, governments shall cover healthcare costs of people with unavoidable diseases. That is to say, a healthcare program shall be responsible for covering people who are old age, have a certain genetic disease in the family tree or develop a spontaneous illness without modifiable risk factors. For example, Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia (BPH) is a disease of men that is very hard to avoid, it disturbs patient’s quality of life and needs continuous treatment, sometimes it may even require surgery. All these are costly and hard to afford by public that is why developing policies and rules to cover these costs are governments responsibility. In conclusion, Governments in order to effectively handle budget in a future that is expected to witness a rapid growth of population, shall develop a plan to cover cost of illnesses, one that includes unpredictable diseases, at the same time excludes diseases as a result of unhealthy human behaviors.