It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children at school should be taught about the history of the place where they are living rather than the history of the globe. To a certain extent I agree that the local history is more beneficial. However, we cannot ignore the value of world history. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, the main reason why it is of great importance for schoolboys and schoolgirls to be informed of the local history is that it helps them to cultivate a sense of patriotism and national solidarity. It is true that, in history, many parts of Vietnam were affected by a lot of wars, thus, if the young are aware of how their forefathers bravely fought against their enemies and sacrificed their lives, they would value the freedom and peace that they are enjoying today. For example, they will gain a deeper understanding of each traditional events such as a national day. Eventually, they will study harder to become useful citizens and contribute like a hero to national development. On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the role of studying world history. It is more crucial for students to have some knowledge of people from different cultures and other countries due to modern globalization. For instance, if you know about the origins and the past development of people across the world, it will be easier for them to form a mutual understanding involving the establishment history of the relationship between Vietnam and other nations or provide the young generations with an overview of the confliction of nations. In conclusion, I believe that more emphasis should be placed on the history of a student's local area rather than the development in world history. It is predicted that, in future, international history courses will be taught more.