In order to change their appearance people often turn to plastic surgery. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such an approach?

Recently, it becomes more popular to take plastic surgery since people have become wealthier and their aesthetic appreciations have changed. Especially for young adults. However, this brings both pros and cons to people’s life. In the following essay, I will discuss the benefits of plastic surgery and the risks behind it. On the one hand, there are some advantages for people to use surgical methods for beauty. These group of males and females view their appearance as a foundation of self-esteem. The advanced plastic surgery technology can help them to change the previous unsatisfactory outlooks, which was impossible in the previous ages so that their confidence can be built up again. As a result, this group can improve their interpersonal skills and relationships with colleagues by communicating more with others. Therefore, admittedly, a good appearance is more beneficial in the aspects of career, marriage, cooperation and so on. On the other hand, although there are numerous merits of the surgical operation to improve people’s outlook, drawbacks of this method cannot be ignored. Firstly, it could be risky to take this surgery. If individuals were injured during the operation process, the scars would accompany them for the rest of the lifetime, which is a permanent hurt for all victims. In addition, artificial physiognomy can be worse than the original one. Finally, since most of such surgeries require a huge expenditure, it would be a considerable monetary burden for the individual. As a result, the deleterious effect of doing such an operation could be both physical and financial. In conclusion, it is never easy to make up minds about changing appearance, thus, those people who are considering to turn to plastic surgery must bear the pros and cons in their mind in order to make a sensible decision.