some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Pollution is an important topic these days because of its adverse effect on the environment. We have seen that there is a need to recycle our waste to the landfill. Some persons believe that waste from homes are not being recycled enough and the only way to improve on this is for the government to enact a law on minimum recycling requirement for households. However, I feel the government should rather focus on the industries than households. Firstly, consumers do not manufacture items and they buy only what is available in the market. These items are made by industries and the government should put laws against these manufacturers on using biodegradable materials. For example, a person will buy a bottle of water when thirsty and he should not be made to suffer for the sins of the manufacturer that used the wrong packaging material. Thus, the laws should be to the food companies on the type of materials to use. Secondly, instead of putting laws against the consumers, the government should create an incentive program that will encourage individuals to recycle more. There should be a way of tracking the weight and type of waste recycled by individuals. For instance, a person that recycles a certain amount of waste will get a rebate for goods to buy in the future and even clear off a part of certain government bills. This will be better than trying to coarse citizens to recycle wastes. In summary, the government should not put laws forcing individuals to recycle waste, rather they should put laws against the producers on the type of packaging materials used and also make recycling attractive to people. I believe that these will reduce the amount of waste to mother earth and make the world a better place.