Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In modern society, there is a heated debate about whether a lot of money and time is allocated to the conservation of wild animals. To a certain extent I agree that spending more on preservation animals is more beneficial,, however we cannot ignore the value of expense on the human population. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, it is reasonable to provide substantial financial resource and manpower for wildlife preservation. To begin with, animals play an essential role in maintaining biodiversity and have profound impacts on human well-being. Different species are mutually reliant on the food chain and their roles are equally important. In other words, the demise of a certain animal can result in the widespread disruption of the whole ecosystem. For example, if the sparrow disappears, the crops can be destroyed by the harmful insects. Therefore, by saving the wild population, humans are saving themselves. On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the role of expenditure for the immediate requirements of the human population. If money is not available to inhabitants who have problems such as mental illness, fatal disease or to those living in dire poverty, it is inevitable that some will suggest spending less on protection wild animals. There is a strong argument that by investment in awareness education for citizens, we could make the world to become a better place for us and for wildlife. For instance, via biology class at school, we will have a deeper understanding of wildlife and make effective ways to conserve them. In conclusion, I believe that more emphasis should be placed on the protection of wild animals rather than the cost of a human. However, a key argument for me is that by spending money on people, we can improve the world generally.