Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that doing homework is beneficial for children’s educational progress, whereas a number of people insist that it should be banned. Even though to some extent, homework may enhance the knowledge gained at school, I am almost sure, that it has more disadvantages rather than advantages. On the one hand, studying at home is crucial for forming a sense of responsibility and independence in the child. Alongside it, some researches implemented independently significantly contribute to broadening one’s knowledge. For example, during the recent experiment at Boston University, the group of students who were continuously doing homework experienced more academic progress than those who were engaged in the learning process exclusively at school. On the other hand, nowadays, the amount of given homework does not allow the child to have free time. Hence, the lack of entertaining or physical activities undoubtedly will lead to disastrous consequences. Once the child has no time for games or sports, then his development will not be comprehensive. More often than not it may influence negatively even his mental development. Apart from this, how can an individual not have the right to choose an activity which is closer to him? Therefore, providing the student spends all the amount of his free time on writing exercises or solving mathematical problems with parents, then he will not have an opportunity to realize himself in any other sphere, for example, art or sport. For instance, more than 70% of parents in Moscow claim that their children do not manage to take part in concerts or art exhibitions due to the huge quantity of homework. In conclusion, a small bulk of homework may be effective for the academic success of the students, however, the overload of the home tasks will definitely have a negative impact.