Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of the rapid changes in today’s world is the eradication of some local languages. There is now a debate over whether or not we should embrace this change or be worried about it. There is a group of people who believe fewer languages means easier communication. I completely disagree with this view as I think there would be several negative consequences along with it. To begin with, behind each language and linguistic rule lied a hidden treasure. In other words, each language is representative of the unique culture of a nation. Many anecdotes, fables, and poets in each language are formed as a result of a historic event in that particular culture, and with languages dying out, a part of human history will be lost. A good example of this would be foreign country's invasions to another country in history, which led to the complete diminishment of local culture, such as the case with the Egyptian invasion to Syria which ruined the unique communication style of the Syrian people. Although it might sound easier to have just one universal language and get yourself free from language barrier problems, there is one point missing here and that is the loss of language diversity attraction for tourists. For instance, imagine one day all people around the world speak in English, which is currently one of the most popular languages, no enthusiasm and curiosity would be left in this case for tourists to explore another country and culture. In a nutshell, I firmly believe the disadvantages of complete removal of a language from the course of history will significantly outweigh its possible advantage. As much as communicating in a universal language may look exciting, but it would result in loss of cultural diversity and local literature attraction to travellers.